top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Mintz

Le Fin!

Graduating French Immersion!


I've officially graduated from my

3 month French Immersion School!!!


Check out below to see how it went & what's next!


 

The Immersion Phase:

The 2nd part of the French school was the Immersion Phase!

Over the last 2 months, I've been immersed in French culture,

ministries, and different places & cities every week!



- French Ministries -

Each week we did either home stays with families, or joined in different French ministries with churches or other YWAM bases!

Every year Lyon, France hosts

the Festival of Lights ("Fête des Lumières"), & each year YWAM Lyon does Bible distribution! Churches partner with them and purchase 5,000 Bibles, and we give them out to those who want one on the streets of the Festival!

We helped serve in this event, packing and giving out Bibles every night at the Festival!




This was an amazing ministry to be a part of!

We gave out all 5,000 Bibles in under

4 nights!

I was shocked to see how many young people were eager to get a Bible for themselves. So many 14 to 20 year olds came up to me, asked SO politely for a Bible (great French practice for me!), and were SO thankful to receive one!

It was so encouraging! I really believe this next generation really is eager for truth.



Other weeks, we went to different schools and got to share with the children and talk about what it's like to be in missions or how to pray and listen to God.

We also spent a week serving a ministry called Youth for Christ, and worked every day with children who are refugees in France and seeking asylum in the country because they've lost their homes.

I really loved being able to use my French to help people feel loved and also grow closer to God.


Above:

Our host couple in Lyon Exploring Lyon with the team

Above:

Crafts with the refugee children Teaching in schools Serving at Youth for Christ


Above:

Leading worship Getting to see snow!!



- Host Families -

2 of the other weeks of Immersion,

I got to spend with 2 different host couples, and this was incredible!

Living and doing life with these wonderful

people really helped my improve both my

knowledge of the language, and of French culture in general.

I'm so grateful to these couples I stayed with

for their generosity and hospitality.

Below are the 2 couples I stayed with.

One in France, and the other in the French speaking part of Switzerland

(where I also got blessed with the opportunity to see snow!)

This school has been such a blessing to me, and also grown me in so many ways.

I'm so thankful for the opportunity to be a part of it, &

I'm excited to have this new foundation in the French language

for my future years here in France!




Next Up!

I'm hoping to come home for Christmas for 3 weeks to try and see my family

& meet my new niece Autumn!!

Please be praying for safe travels and no exposure to Covid!


 

Please Help Support Me: In Prayer & Finances

Everything I do here with Youth With a Mission France

is 100% volunteer & based on support from others!

Please pray about sponsoring me

( financially or in prayer ) in one of these immediate needs:

My Prayer Requests:

  • French Visa - My new yearly visa here is ready! But I need to pay $300 to receive it, so I'm praying for the finances to cover this!

  • Friend's Wedding - I'm attending a close friend of mine's wedding this month & need $200 more to help cover the travel costs. She's been someone who's been around with me since I joined YWAM Paris in 2018, so I'm really wanting to be there for this special day!

  • Home for Christmas! - $200 to help cover Christmas gifts for my friends and family. It's that time of year again & I'm really want to be able to bless others in this season where I'm able.

Extra Things I'm Trusting for:

  • Moped License / Insurance - The finances to buy my scooter are in! Now I'm just trusting for my French driver's license to finish being processed (it's been accepted, but the paperwork is hitting a lot of blockages). So please be praying for that! I'll also need finances for insurance to cover my moped for damages, theft, & accidents. I'm trusting for a few supporters to help me! Full coverage will cost around $90/month

  • Monthly Financial Partners - I'm still trusting for about $400 more a month to help cover my daily expenses and ministry. I'm inviting people to join my team and partner with me monthly. Please pray about joining my team and funding my ministry here in YWAM.

If you could help me in ANY of these areas, I would be SO thankful! Love you all! Thanks to everyone for all the support and prayer! I couldn't do this without YOU!

WAYS TO GIVE: 1. Checks - mailed to Emily Mintz 17 Country Squire Ct Saint Louis, MO 63146 2. Paypal, click here for USD gifts - https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/emilymintz click here for EURO gifts - https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/emilymintzmissions 3. Venmo Phone App, to me @emintz92 ( no fees here! ) 4. Apple Pay (+33 6 28 42 44 87) 5. Sign up for monthly giving through YWAM automatic withdrawals & tax deductible receipts - message me for how! 6. Direct American or French bank transfers, or Transferwise: message me for bank details


Much Love, Emily Mintz emintz92@gmail.com


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page